between lotus and lola

 

the salzburg rallye club (s.r.c.) and the artists' network lawine torrèn produced an opera about the tragic death of the racing driver jochen rindt. the world premiere was staged in the twilight of july 30th, 2009 at the salzburg ring, austria.

 

on august 30th 1970, the 28-year-old austrian racing driver, and subsequent formula 1 world champion, drove his last race for the "festival prize of the city of salzburg". six days later he died in a training accident at monza. the performance is set at the original location and features the original racecars. an international ensemble of dancers, singers and actors reconstructed those last days of austria's only national hero in a dramatic opera with the essence of a documentary.

alongside john lennon, neil armstrong and janis joplin, a name from austria appeared on the horizon of fame during the revolutionary years of the beat music from 1967 to 1970: jochen rindt. be it in his raccoon coat or his full-face helmet, nobody else epitomised the new era as pointedly and nonchalantly as rindt.

how it all happened, how it looked, how it felt, how it smelled, how it sounded, how it roared, how love was, where the doubts arose from, how courage was nurtured - all this is what the racing driver opera is about - in the style of a docudrama, bearing the hallmarks of lawine torrèn.


"as tragic as the end of this hero of the pop-era was, we remember him with the sentiment that he did not die for nothing. often, the triteness of his accidental death flagrantly contradicts the myths of heroism and redemption following him. accommodating both at the same time, the simplicity and the uniqueness of this hero and his time, is our very concern", says director hubert lepka.

 

 

world premiere thursday, july 30th, 2009, salzburgring, austria
further performances july 31st, august 1st and 2nd 2009

© schlegelmilch

zwischen lotus und lola


der salzburg rallye club (s.r.c.) und das künstlernetzwerk
lawine torrèn produzierten eine rennfahreroper über das tragische ende von jochen rindt. die uraufführung fand in der dämmerung des 30. juli 2009 am salzburgring statt.

 

am 30. august 1970 fuhr der 28-jährige österreichische rennfahrer und nachmalige formel 1 weltmeister jochen rindt sein letztes rennen um den “festspielpreis der stadt salzburg”. sechs tage später starb er bei einem trainingsunfall in monza. die originalen rennfahrzeuge sowie ein internationales ensemble von tänzern, sängern und schauspielern rekonstruierten am originalschauplatz diese letzten tage des einzigen großen nationalhelden österreichs in einer dramatischen oper mit dokumentarischem anspruch.

in den revolutionären jahren des beat von 1967 bis 1970 tauchte neben john lennon, neil armstrong, janis joplin ein name aus österreich am horizont des ruhmes auf: jochen rindt. im waschbärmantel wie im vollvisierhelm verkörperte niemand anderer die neue zeit so eindringlich und lässig wie er.

wie dies geschah, wie das aussah, wie es sich anfühlte, wie das roch, wie sich das anhörte, wie das brüllte, wie die liebe war, woraus die zweifel kamen, woraus der mut sich nährte, darüber handelt die rennfahreroper - im stile einer doku-fiktion, mit der handschrift von lawine torrèn.

“so tragisch das ende dieses helden des pop-zeitalters war, wir erinnern ihn in dem gefühl, er sei nicht umsonst gestorben. die banalität des unfalltodes steht oft in krassem gegensatz zum helden- und erlösungsmythos, der ihm folgt. beides gleichzeitig zu fassen, das einfache und das einzigartige dieses helden und seiner zeit, ist unser anliegen,” so regisseur hubert lepka.

 

ein board of advisors bot jenen, die persönlich und tatkräftig mit ihrem wissen und auch finanziell das projekt fördern wollten, eine plattform, um ganz nahe dran zu sein, von der entstehung bis zur weltpremiere.


uraufführung donnerstag, 30. juli 2009, salzburgring
weitere vorstellungen 31. juli, 1. und 2. august 2009

flyer zur rennfahreroper jochen rindt