the idea: hybrid.

some cities can be printed on the front and backside of the same city map. you would provide them with the same legend: on the backside of essen there is linz. coal, steal, harbour, change, contemporary european cultural capital, folkwang, bruckner, ars electronica, zeche zollverein. every path in linz prepares for a path in essen. the junctions resemble each other, the content is already in the www. train stations, harbours, channels instead of senders, museums and arts clubs. linz is a training camp for the ruhr area.

each take of a film demands a performative intervention being filmed. each of lawine torrèn's performances needs the "tele-vision" of cameras and asks for cinematic documentation. to perfectly equilibrate these two aspects is the aesthetic aim of knights club. what remains, are a series of  performances and a movie reinforcing and supporting one another.

knights club is bifocal. on the opposite side of the expanded cinema lies the expanded shot: instead of excluding potential onlookers from the shot, we would like to get them involved, turning the performative aspect of each take into a performance (sometimes invisible). 

 

plot: obscure.

knights club is about the american billionaire mort michaels assigning the british mem-scientist susan blacksmith to inspect a group of experts of the F60 lab in linz. a lab conducting research on anti-thought-viruses and the place, where the billionaire's daughter had disappeared during a fact finding mission in the ruhr area.stupefyingly, two of her colleagues went missing on the exact same spot shortly afterwards. the last route through essen can be traced via video messages, gps and mms, but sending yet another colleague seems unreasonably hazardous. susan and the remaining of the F60 team start a quest for uninformed, i.e. uncontaminated, persons to bodyguard her on her trip to essen. the F60 lab implements a test track for essen in the lentos in linz. ten consecutive club nights (the "knights club") provide the setting for a raffle in which they seek to identify adequate travellers (the knights) to essen. however, a machination within F60 impedes their finishing the training. a phonecall from mort michaels, the financier, coerces a group around susan and two of the knights into hastily leaving for essen. an odyssey through a strange yet identical city begins, in which the lack of training as well as unknown followers prove the travellers' undoing.

 

technics: remote control.

all that is needed for a remote controlled raffle in essen is simply consumer technology: video phone, mms, gps and internet.


internet
due to its charactaristics of the absence of a real place, the world wide web is the perfect tool for knights club. starting with the registration for the club up to the exploration and remote control in essen, the classics of the internet (haiku-generator, sodaconstructor, google earth, etc) and the project website itself, the internet is the decisive hub for all information processed.

reciprocity
thought through the end, the project can also take place in reverse direction, knights club taking place in essen with a fact finding mission to linz.

die idee: hybrid.

manche städte könnten auf vor- und rückseite desselben stadtplanes gedruckt werden. man würde sie dann mit derselben legende versehen: auf der rückseite von essen liegt linz. kohle, stahl, hafen, veränderung, zeitgenössische kulturhauptstadt, folkwang, bruckner, ars electronica, zeche zollverein. jeder weg in linz bereitet auch auf einen weg in essen vor. die knotenpunkte sind sich selbstähnlich, der content ist mittlerweile im netz. bahnstationen, häfen, kanäle statt sendern, museen und kunstclubs. linz taugt als trainingslager für das ruhrgebiet.

jeder einzelne shot eines filmes verlangt einen performativen eingriff, der gefilmt wird. jede performance von lawine torrèn braucht das "fern-sehen" der kameras und will filmischen anteil. diese beiden aspekte perfekt zwischen film und performance auszubalancieren ist unser ästhetisches ziel. dieses ziel wird durch eine reihe von aufführungen und eine tv- und  filmproduktion markiert, die sich gegenseitig verstärken und unterstützen. knights club ist hybrid.

auf der gegenüberliegenden seite von expanded cinema liegt der expanded shot: anstatt die zaungäste eines filmdrehs möglichst auszuschließen, könnten wir sie mitspielen lassen und den performativen aspekt jedes drehs zu einer performance zu machen - theatre, sometimes invisible.

 

der plot: undurchsichtig.

susan blacksmith stößt auf der suche nach der verschwundenen milliardärstochter von mort michaels auf den umstand, dass an exakt der selben stelle, wo die letzten spuren zur vermissten führen, zwei ihr nacheilende kollegen ebenso verloren gingen. durch videomessages und weblog lässt sich der letzte weg in essen zwar rekonstruieren, einen weiteren kollegen nachzuschicken scheint aber zu gefährlich. susan und die verbleibenden experten in F60 suchen nach uninformierten, das heißt uninfizierten personen, die als leibwächter – als mindguards – mit nach essen reisen sollen. das labor F60 richtet im linzer kunstrmuseum lentos eine versuchsstrecke für essen ein, auf der in fünf aufeinanderfolgenden clubabenden - dem knights club - im rahmen eines gewinnspiels geeignete reisende ins ruhrgebiet (die knights) ermittelt werden. eine intrige innerhalb F60 verhindert jedoch, dass die ausbildung zu ende geführt werden kann. ein anruf von mort michaels, dem financier, zwingt susan zusammen mit zwei knights überhastet aufzubrechen.

es beginnt eine irrfahrt durch den ober- und unterirdischen informationsdschungel einer fremden und doch gleichen verdichtung von informations- und verkehrswegen namens stadt, wobei der reisegruppe die fehlende ausbildungszeit und unbekannte verfolger zum verhängnis werden.

 

die technik: remote control.

alles was die fernsteuerung der rätsel-ralley in essen bedarf, ist einfachste consumer-technologie: videotelefon, mms, gps und internet.

internet
das www ist durch seine nicht-örtlichkeit ein perfektes werkzeug für den knights club. von der anmeldung zum club bis hin zur erkundung und steuerung im ruhrgebiet sind die klassiker des internet (haiku-generator, sodaconstructor, google earth, youtube u.v.m.) sowie die projekteigene webpage die zentralen hubs, worüber sämtliche informationen verhandelt werden.

reziprok
zu ende gedacht, kann das projekt auch in umgekehrter richtung stattfinden. der knights club findet in essen statt und der suchtrupp begibt sich auf eine reise nach linz.