mars in the year 2068 AD. we find ourselves in a side valley of the expansive sierra hellispontis, a promontory of the olympus mons. 24,000 meters the highest mountain in the entire solar system.

two rival companies are fighting for the broadcasting rights for the olympus mons. MOL, the abbreviation for mars online, has its base next to a convenient landing-strip which is situated not far from the air-strip belonging to TROI, the terrestrial orbital industries. the entire mars economy is based not on money, instead it uses medial attention as a means of exchange.

science fiction

for earth, society on mars is something like a permanent expedition-mars-reality-soap, continuous observation by the media has become an end in itself to both colonies. their gains or losses are exclusively dependent on the (medial) attention attained amongst each other and on earth. whoever is on mars, is always online. this is a mission.

iliad_aeneid_odyssey

the surface of mars is covered by – like a conjuration from the past – by the nomenclature of places of classical ancient times. mars : 2068 purposely uses themes from homer, vergil and kubrick. like in a never-ending loop we find ourselves in the midst of a story where past and future are irrelevant.

space shuttle

the means of transport on TROI and its implication for the choreography deserve a special mention: TROI owns a small fleet of mars-bulls. these have been developed out of snow groomers and are light and powerful with special hydraulic elements. the use of hovercrafts in the way in which they move create an authentic science-fiction feature. the russian allwhee drive rocket transporter KRAS will be used as mobile lafette for large-scale pyrotechnics. cranes are used to lift excavators, performers, trucks, satelleites. each element hanging on the crane is individually choreographed during it's remarkable flight through the mars sky. the cableway serves as the means of public transport between the stations MOL and TROI. suspended to the »schwarze schneid« cableway is the comunication-bus »nacelle«, a specially designed space-cablecar for massive data transfer.

telecommunications

the central memory and medium of communication for every member of the mars community is the standard-teraflop PDA. this digital device covers every communication and assesses it as to whether or not it is interesting as broadcasting material. it is the central hub for the online-society.

mars base-station

the rettenbach glacier with its strange looking iceformations and long, soft stretches of snow contrasting with reddish coloured ragged primary rocks is the perfect arena for a science fiction drama which attempts to bring to life a version of future reality. mars station built out of snow and ice, mars(piste)bulls as the futuristic means of transport, vertical land ferries, telematics and a landscape iced with snow serve as background to this story about a war for medial attention: the story of the downfall of the mars base- station TROI.

mars im jahre 2068 nach christus. wir befinden uns in einem nebental der ausgedehnten sierra hellespontis, einem vorgebirge des olympus mons, mit 24.000 metern der höchste berg des sonnensystems.

zwei kolonien konkurrenzierender konzerne stehen in heftigem streit um die senderechte vom olympus mons. MOL, die abkürzung für mars online, hat seine basisstation in unmittelbarer nähe eines günstigen landeplatzes, etwas oberhalb jener von TROI, der terrestrian orbital industries. die gesamte ökonomie des mars basiert nicht auf geld, sie benutzt aufmerksamkeit als tauschmittel.

science fiction

die gesellschaft am mars ist für die erde so etwas wie eine permanente expedition-mars-reality-soap. ununterbrochene beobachtung durch medien ist zum selbstzweck der beiden kolonien geworden. ihr einziger gewinn oder verlust besteht in der aufmerksamkeit untereinander und auf der erde. wer am mars ist, ist immer und bei allem auf sendung. es handelt sich um eine mission.

ilias_aeneis_odyssey

die marsoberfläche überzieht - wie eine beschwörung der vergangenheit - die nomenklatur von orten des klassischen altertums. ganz bewusst schöpft die handlung von mars : 2068 aus den erzählungen homers, vergils und kubricks.
wie in einer gödel-schleife befinden wir uns mitten in einer geschichte, bei der vergangenheit und zukunft im grunde keine rolle spielen.

raumtransporter

ein besonderes augenmerk wird auf die möglichkeiten technischer fortbewegung auf dem rettenbachgletscher und deren choreographische implikationen gelegt: eigens aus pistenraupen (schneekatzen) entwickelte marsbullen werden für präzise, feinmotorische choreographien eingesetzt. hovercrafts in ihrer eigenwilligen bewegungsweise und form erzeugen ein glaubwürdiges science-fiction feature. der russische, allradgetriebene raketentransporter KRAS dient als mobile lafette für grosskalibrige pyrotechnik. krane lassen bagger, darsteller, lastwagen, satelliten und alles erdenkliche auf choreographisch gestalteten flugbahnen durch den marshimmel fliegen. die schwarze schneidbahn ist das öffentliche verkehrsmittel zwischen den stationen MOL und TROI. an ihr hängt der kommunikationsbus "nacelle", eine eigens entwickelte raumgondel für massiven datentransfer.

telekommunikation

zentrales speicher- und kommunikationsmedium für jedes mitglied der mars-community ist ein standard-teraflop PDA. dieses digital device erfasst sämtliche kommunikationen und bewertet sie auf ihre interessantheit für die sender. es ist das zentrale hub für die online-society.

marsstation aus eis und schnee

der rettenbachgletscher in sölden mit seinen bizarren eisbrüchen, ausgedehnten, weich geformten schneeflächen und seinen schroffen felsformationen ist die perfekte projektionsfläche für ein science-fiction-schauspiel, das in dieser atemberaubenden naturarena des gletschers ein stück zukünftiger realität phantasiert. mars-station aus schnee und eis, fortbewegung mit marsbullen, senkrechtstartende landefähren, telematik und aus schnee konfektionierte projektionsflächen dienen als folie für einen krieg der aufmerksamkeit: die geschichte des untergangs der marsbasis TROI.